Usborne Children’s Books

Here is an explanation of the UK National Curriculum Key Stages.

National Curriculum Key Stages
Key Stage Pupil's Age Year Group Code
Early Years Foundation Stage 3-5 Nursery, Reception EYFS
Key Stage 1 5-7 1-2 KS1
Key Stage 2 7-11 3-6 KS2
Key Stage 3 11-14 7-9 KS3
Key Stage 4 14-16 10-11 KS4

For equivalent year groups in Scotland, visit the Age and Key Stage page.

Subject Abbreviations
Subject Code
English E
Maths M
Science S
Art & Design A
History H
Geography G
Music MU
Physical Education PE
Religious Education RE
Design & Technology DT
Personal, Social & Health Education/Citizenship PSHE/C
Modern Foreign Languages MFL
Information & Communication Technology ICT